Thursday, 15 July 2010

Top parliamentary award for Thornbridge

The innovative Thornbridge Brewery in Derbyshire won the coveted Brewer of the Year award from the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Club at the club's annual dinner in London on 14 July. The brewery was based at Thornbridge Hall but moved last year to a custom-built new site outside Bakewell, where it can produce 20,000 barrels a year. One year later, owner Jim Harrison is already planning to install two new fermenting vessels to keep up with demand.
Thornbridge is best known for its Jaipur IPA and St Petersburg imperial stout. The brewery has also been heavily involved in ageing beer in wood, including whisky and wine casks.
The parliamentary award was accepted by head brewer Stefano Cossi.
The Beer Club's Beer Drinker of the Year award went to John Grogan, the club's former chairman. Grogan was MP for Selby but stood down at the last election.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

I was under the impression that it was Stefano him self that was awarded brewer of the year rather than the brewery as a whole.

30 July 2010 at 12:55  
Blogger Roger Protz said...

Sorry for delay -- held up by a certain beer festival. You're probably correct -- always great confusion surrounds these awards. But if Stef got the prize seems odd to overlook his co-brewer Kelly Ryan.

17 August 2010 at 12:57  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I agree and Stef has said it is a team effort. It is his name on the tankard, maybe it should be for the whole team.

24 August 2010 at 19:44  

Post a comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home